The villages of Maratea

How many Maratea ?  - the Map

The town of Maratea is composed of several hamlets: a satellite system of villages that gravitate around the original urban core of Maratea center called Centro Storico (Old Town, formerly known as "Il Borgo") located on the south side of the valley, at an altitude of 310 mt. above sea level, on the slopes of Monte San Biagio.
The municipal area borders as well as with the Tyrrhenian Sea, with the municipalities of Sapri (Salerno, Campania), Tortora (Cosenza, Calabria), Rivello and Trecchina (Potenza, Basilicata).

On the coast, from north to south, the villages are respectively Acquafredda, Cersuta, Fiumicello-Santa Venere, Porto, Marina di Maratea and Castrocucco.
Inland, east of Mount San Biagio, are the villages of Massa, Brefaro and Santa Caterina (the Castle); west of the same mountain, Curzo and Campo.

They are so many, and not a single Maratea: this is the charm of Maratea.


The most northern seaside village

Brefaro & Massa

The authenticity of mountain villages

Castello di Maratea

The ancient "Maratia Superior"


Former independent fief; the southernmost

Centro Storico

The Borough of  "Maratia Inferior"


Spectacular descents to the sea

Port of Maratea

The ancient fishing port

Marina di Maratea

Scenic coastline and fabulous beaches is managed by
AltriTurismi ets Association
Support our Association MAKE A DONATION !

This site does NOT use any profiling cookies. The site allows the sending of third-party cookies, i.e. cookies installed by a different site through the site you are visiting, also for sending advertising messages in line with the preferences expressed by the user in the context of navigation. . If you want to know more or deny consent to all or some cookies, scroll down to this banner. By closing this banner, or by clicking on 'ACCEPT', you consent to the use of cookies.


This service is used to secure web forms of our website and required if you want to contact us. By accepting it you agree to Google's privacy policy:

Google Analytics

Google Analytics is a service used on our website that tracks, reports traffic and measures how users interact with our website content in order for us to improve it and provide better services.


Our website allows you to like or share its content on Facebook social network. By activating and using it you agree to Facebook's privacy policy:


Integrated videos provided by YouTube are used on our website. By accepting to watch them you agree to Google's privacy policy:


Integrated videos provided by Vimeo are used on our website. By accepting to watch them you agree to Vimeo's privacy policy:


Integrated tweets and share services of Twitter are used on our website. By accepting and using these you agree to Twitter's privacy policy: